ILM Associates are now accredited to deliver PTLLS Level 3 and 4

PTLLS is the qualification required for all teachers, trainers and assessors who work in the lifelong learning sector.

The PTLLS course covers the following key areas

  • planning a teaching session and a scheme of work
  • the role of the tutor
  • the training cycle
  • meeting individual learner needs
  • teaching and learning methods
  • assessment methods
  • evaluation strategies

This is a professional teaching qualification and the course requires your active participation and the completion of coursework assignments. Assignments are set by the NOCN and comprise an assignment for each of the four units completed. Three of these are theory based assignments the final one is practical. Candidates are also required to complete a reflective learning journal throughout the course.

All candidates deliver a 20-minute teaching session to the rest of the group and peer assess the other members of the group delivering their session. You will need to be able to express yourself effectively both orally and in writing.

You will need a qualification or experience in the subject area you intend to teach.

Finally PTLLS is part of both CTLLS and DTLLS and people completing this can count their PTLLS award towards those qualifications claiming recognized prior learning.